Adoptive Placement Transition · Foster Care · Foster Care Journey

Hair Identity

image

The picture above is of my sisters and I. (Well, two of the five). I’ve discussed the adoptions in my family and have even touched on how we’ve been received in public. (I will try to find which post and link it.)
My family loves to travel so we have been from LA to Philly to the Virgin Islands and even down to Mississippi.  We are accustomed to glances and after all these years, we hardly note them.
My sister pictured above came to us when she was 3 months old. I recall our flight to St. Thomas, she was giving this old man THE EYE.  She looked at me and said, “Puddin, he’s not coming with us!” He was trying to have small talk with her and she was not having any parts of it! She eventually became comfortable with white people once she started daycare. 

I give you this back story to set up for the real topic of my post.

My little sister loves black hair products.

I mean…..give her access to a comb and some hair moisturizer and she’s in heaven. I can understand a spritz of Hawaiian Silky occasionally but this chick attempts to style her hair with it. I’ve explained to her that our hair is different and that she doesn’t require grease/oil/moisturizers. I usually get a gentle “Puddin,  I know my hair” look from her.

So, we just…let her express herself! We mimic what we see and she’s had the heaviest dose of them all. I figure as she gets older (she’s 10 now!), she will gradually end her affair with black hair products.  Who knows…maybe she’ll be an amazing hair stylist ♡

2 thoughts on “Hair Identity

  1. LOL–shout out to Hawaiian Silky–got a couple of pump bottles in the cabinet! This post sent me into a fit of giggles. It’s just hair, if she is rocking some products that would seem to be pretty heavy for her hair but she’s cool with it…shrug. It is interesting to be me how kiddos express themselves. Hope love her natural hair now despite what kids at school say, and they haven’t always been kind. Just tell your sis to keep pumping away! 🙂

  2. Lol! How cute! I can just imagine your sister rocking the updo or some finger waves. Some of these new natural, curly products might work for her hair.

    I can tell that you are getting ALL of the time with your family before you leave!

Leave a comment