32 Days to 32 - A Reflection Series

8 Days to 32 – A Reflection Series

Weight loss

fb_img_1459709248217.jpg

Once upon at time, my weight fluctuated in between 140-145 lbs. Seemingly over night, the PCOS kicked in and I gained a significant amount of weight in a few months. You can read about PCOS here 13 Days to 32 – A Reflection Serie. I was in my junior year of high school and had no clue what was happening to my body. In addition, my parents assumed it was due to increased food intake versus an actual medical problem. Fast forward, I was not diagnosed until about 4 years later and 40 lbs. heavier. My lowest weight since then was 175 lbs. in 2009. I was in a weight loss program with an appetite suppressant and vitamin B12 injections. I also worked out 3 times a week. I lost 20-30 lbs. in  a few months and kept it off for 6 months before gaining it back. I have not been able to reproduce those results since.

I am now sitting at 217 lbs with a goal weight of 160. That is 57 lbs. to lose. For as MUCH as I complain about my weight (mostly to myself), it remains my main struggle in life. PCOS works against weight loss efforts and combined with a steadily decreasing motivation…it is the perfect storm for me to either maintain a high weight or for it to increase. When I was trying to procreate, my motivation was through the roof and I did so well with my diet. However, that pregnancy didn’t last and my motivation dissipated with it.

I am hopeful that this year…something “sticks” and I am able to make those changes necessary to be healthy.

Leave a Reply

