32 Days to 32 - A Reflection Series · Foster Care

23 Days to 32 – A Reflection Series

END OF YEAR REFLECTION – Brian K. Rice

For the last three years, I have completed “End of Year Reflection” questions and chosen a “word of the year”. I can ponder and preseverate with the best of ’em. However, there is something tangible and real about putting words on paper. It leaves no room for confusion or sugar coating as you read your beautiful and ugly truths. This is also part of the reason why I have avoided the sections of my blog concerning Sasha. My own words…and their transparency… feels like a flood of emotions…less filtered by time… and it’s difficult. It’s easier to mentally desert this space.

*deep breath*

Here are the questions that I complete and review annually. These questions have been “clarifying”. This year as I read a goal that has appeared in all 3 of my annual reflections, I was able to identify the root of the issue. Overall, I am striving to be more reflective in my day by day. I hope you find this helpful as well and remember this is based on a year, not your life.

1. Ten Highlights
2. Three Things You Focused On
3. Ten Disappointments
4. Three Unexpected Events
5. Three Things I Neglected
6. Three Questions I Need Answered
7. Three Areas of Learning & Growth
8. What’s My Frog? (the vital thing you hate/avoid)
9. The Three Things (entrusted to you to be responsible for)
10. Ten Signs of Success

Leave a Reply

