32 Days to 32 - A Reflection Series

26 Days to 32- A Reflection Series

Graduate School 

20160510_203503.jpg

Sometimes, I try my hardest to stress myself out…. case and point —>

June 2015 – return to USA from China

August 2015 – Start Graduate School (full-time/ accelerated program)

September 2015 – Move to new city for work (full-time)

August 2016 – Graduation!

I had spent a year living abroad. I truly did not consider the transition of moving back home and starting from scratch in some areas.

Honestly, I wasn’t ready to come home but that’s another post!

While I was in China, I prayed for direction. My choices were to spend another 6 months abroad in a Spanish-speaking country OR to apply to graduate school in Arizona. The plan was….if I was accepted into graduate school, I would return to the country.

I graduated last August with a Master’s of Advanced Study degree in Infant-Family Practice. I’m not a fan of reinventing the wheel…so below is more details about my degree from the college website. The brief version: I studied “… development during infancy and early childhood with an emphasis on social and emotional development, mental health, and early parent-child relationships.

Infant Mental Health for Infant Family Practice: Survey of the biological and environmental risk factors that jeopardize the mental health of infants and young children and an overview of prevention and intervention strategies.
Assessment of Infants, Toddlers, and Families for Infant Family Practice: Provides information about the developmentally appropriate assessment and evaluation of infants, toddlers and their families including the importance of a relationship-based approach.
Cultural Competence for Infant Family Practice: An examination of cultural issues impacting parent-child relationships and child rearing and the effectiveness of infant mental health and early intervention services on families of various ethnic and cultural backgrounds.”

 I LOVE this degree and in combination with my nursing degree, I believe amazing opportunities may reveal themselves in the future. The therapist that Sasha and I had sparked my interest in the field of infant and toddler mental health. She was so helpful and reflective. I couldn’t stand it at first but eventually I came to understand the great significance of the relationship and its’ impact on a child’s trajectory. And get this….the relationship truly starts prenatally.

I could talk about this all day!

Leave a Reply

