32 Days to 32 - A Reflection Series

25 Days to 32 – A Reflection Series

Nurse-Family Partnership

1115161255e.jpg

http://www.nursefamilypartnership.org

As I read through my “30 Days to 30” series, I had forgotten about a particular post on my “dream job”. 9 Days to 30  It was a job I’d applied for repeatedly over at least 2 to 3 years. When I returned from China, I decided to give it one last try. I was offered the position and quickly moved about 2.5 hours from my family to a new city. I’ve been in my position as a nurse home visitor for 1.5 years now.

So..what was all the mental/emotional ruckus concerning this job, right?

I get to enroll first-time pregnant women into a free program that pairs them with a nurse home visitor through pregnancy until the child’s 2nd birthday. The mom and I meet and discuss how to have a healthy pregnancy, preparing for labor & delivery, how to improve her child’s health and development and her economic self-sufficiency ( job and education). Research conducted has shown an improvement in each of those areas for women enrolled in the program. If you read my last post, you can see how this fits perfectly with my Master’s degree.

As a nurse home visitor for this specific program, I have witnessed beautiful and heartbreaking moments. I have received the call when a mom states, ” I didn’t feel safe at home alone.”…to her sharing how she felt her daughter’s first kicks …or where she shares the details of her miscarriage between tears.

I love this opportunity and blessing to be allowed on their journey into and through motherhood. As I have silently struggled with my own ability/luck with pregnancy, I can only pray that God’s peace will shield my heart so I can continue to enjoy this work.

Leave a Reply

