A New Journey

Catherine tries Chinese Medicine

image

This is me on my way to see a traditional Chinese doctor. As I’ve mentioned before, I was diagnosed with PCOS (polycystic ovarian syndrome) in my early 20s. My periods are extremely irregular as in once every few months. As a result, fertility is affected amongst other things related to having imbalanced hormones.
A Chinese colleague invited me to go with her and I figured…..why not??

image

His office is in a village about 30 minutes away. He’s been practicing since 1964 and is considered a well known and successful doctor. He was very kind and excited to see me. (Via translation) I was asked about the characteristics of my period, discharge and etc. He assessed my pulse on both arms and my face. I was then told the plan…
1. Clean my blood
2. Regulate my cycles
3. Treat my horrible back pains during periods

He wrote a prescription and after an hour of preparation including cooking…I had my medicine!
image

image

I have to take it before breakfast and before dinner for 8 days. It tastes like an ancient tree concentrated into a cup. It’s literally horrible! However, I’m determined to give my best shot.

Tomorrow I will share how my first 2 days went…..

One thought on “Catherine tries Chinese Medicine

  1. Good luck with that. My doctor told me that they can drill tiny holes into your ovaries for PCOS and it somehow stimulates the ovaries into working better. Unfortunately for me, PCOS is the least of my problems.
    I think I’d try the ancient tree though!

Leave a Reply

