Foster Care

22 Days to 30

image

” Sometime in 2005″

I’ve always had irregular menstrual periods but we believed I would “outgrow” it. In my junior or senior year of high school, I suddenly started to gain weight quickly. I gained around 30 pounds after being in the 140s for years. As time passed, it began to worsen and I’d go months without a period.

During my college years, I made an appointment with a physician. We completed blood work, a pelvic and vaginal ultrasound which confirmed I had Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS).
The dialogue lasted *maybe* five minutes. I was told she was starting me on birth control and that I may have issues with fertility. 
“Are you planning on trying to get pregnant in the near future? ”
“Umm… no…not soon. ”
” Okay, so when you’re ready we’ll start a medicine to help you conceive. Now, this is how you take the birth control…….”

I remember leaving and feeling like I had lost something. A very sensitive exchange had occurred in her office but yet it was void of emotions. 
I’m thankful for more literature on this condition and women speaking about its’ struggles. 

Sincerely, 
A polycyster ♡

4 thoughts on “22 Days to 30

  1. I had this exact conversation with my doctor last Thursday. The birth control he wanted to give me he claimed had side effects that outweighed the benefits so I’m playing a waiting game now and trying my hardest to reduce my weight and I’d things naturally. All I know so far is that it’s not easy! Thank you for your blog. I am still learning about all of this and blogs like your are just fab 🙂

Leave a Reply

