30 Days to 30 · Foster Care

24 Days to 30

image

May 2014
When I began the process to become a foster mom, I searched the internet for blogs written by Black women. I was surprised because I could count them on my fingers. We are fostering but not necessarily sharing it in this form.

I decided that day to start a blog and share my story as a black single foster mom. I’ve been blessed and humbled to receive comments like the one above. It confirms that I truly did fill a need.

It is more common to see white families with black children they’ve adopted or are fostering. People (of all colors) had no clue what to think with me and a white toddler strolling through life.  This added to my experience and I’ve shared many moments within this blog.  I am thankful for this space and the people who stop to read it.

Leave a Reply

