A New Journey

Let It Go.

image

My best friend (of the last 10 years) and I had been toying around with the idea of packing up and moving to the East Coast or the South. You couldn’t persuade us one bit that we’d stay unmarried for long with all the chocolate living in those areas. Phoenix has not been kind and we were ready for a refreshing change. We’ve had that discussion for maybe the last 3 years?? After the blog, Knowing In Part, ( WP won’t show the link)
I knew that the move could happen much sooner. I was already contemplating still moving across country with my Stinky when the plan was for me to adopt. It was such a “safe” thought because that’s all it ever was… I was slightly fearful of leaving my family and the control I believed I had in my life. A few weeks after that pivotal day, my best friend and I revisited our plans to move. I had secretly been leaning a completely different direction but had not yet shared it with her. I also would need to rent or sale my home.

I could write 10 blogs on how ONE person can fill a house w/n five years and not know where to start packing/selling/organizing to sale it. I literally want to open the doors of my home and have people just purchase items and take them home that day. I am so overwhelmed trying to do this alone. RANT OVER. House is scheduled to be listed on this Saturday. (NO, It’s not MY ready smh).

I usually am able to multitask very well. However, I could not pack up my home, facilitate Stinky’s move to an adoptive home AND be sane all at the same time. In pure Catherine fashion, I shut down and told the realtor to reschedule the list date or cancel the contract. She was starting to pressure me into listing it during that time and I was over it…and her.

Moving on….one evening, I mentioned how awesome it would be to travel to my best friend. She is graduating with her Master’s (on Friday!!!). We are both single and now childless. Why not?? The response I got back was an overwhelming YES. We immediately started researching requirements/best places/safe places/salary/cost of living and etc. The plan is that we stay together…same school, (at least same city) and same area of living. We have decided to pack up our American way of living for an opportunity to teach English abroad! I am in the VERY beginning but I will be blogging about the process. Prayerfully, in August/September, I will be blogging to you from…..South Korea!

In honor of my Stinky’s favorite song:
“And the fears that once controlled me
Can’t get to me at all
It’s time to see what I can do
To test the limits and break through” – “Let It Go” from Disney’s Frozen

7 thoughts on “Let It Go.

  1. WOW!!!!! I’m so excited and proud of you! That takes a lot of guts lady! Chart that path and do your thing! How exciting. I gotta admit though, I saw the “east” bit and screamed “DC” since of course you’re one of my home girls in my head. Then I saw the “You couldn’t persuade us one bit that we’d stay unmarried…” and I screamed–don’t move here! lol. So excited. I’ll be following! 🙂 All the best!

    1. Cyber Home girls!!!! We’re doing that New Age type ish lmbo. ABM, there is nothing in Phoenix. Your chances have to increase when you’re as low as we are lol.

  2. I am sooooo excited for you! Living internationally is AWESOME. South Korea….AHHHHH! I’ve never been there so I can’t wait for you to blog all about it. I’m looking forward to continuing to read as you move into the next season of your life.

Leave a Reply

