A New Journey · Foster Care Journey

Two Year Anniversary !!

image

As a single black woman in her 20s, there was little information in the “cyber world” whether it was an article or personal account of OUR stories as foster parents. I searched for a face and story similar to my own. I discovered quickly that I was in a small percentage and became committed to sharing my experience.

On May 29, 2012, I sat down at the computer and started to type my first post. My blog was titled, “A Tale of Puddin, Tigger & The Blessing” and it covered the final portion of my PS-MAPPs course, process to licensing, the arrival of my Stinky, our 18 month journey and then her transition to a permanent adoptive home. At the conclusion of our journey, I decided to continue blogging with the focus of how being a single foster mom has shaped me. The blog was retitled, “Yesterday, I was a Mom” in March 2014. The blog has transitioned into following my new journey as an English teacher in China.

I can’t believe that it has been TWO years! I have categorized each post to allow for new/old readers to filter through them. Strangely, I have not been able to read my blog from beginning to end. It’s almost as if it’s to personal?? I love that all my emotions are a fingertip away…yet it remains like a time capsule that my heart isn’t ready to open. My hope is that single women and other black women are encouraged and inspired through this blog to be a foster parent.

Being a mom to my Stinky was one of my highest achievements and is my most precious memory. As I nurtured her and watched her grow, she changed me too. She remains my Christmas morning and is in my thoughts daily. She has made me brave and I am so thrilled to share my experiences with her as I embark on this new quest.

***Cheers to my upcoming TWO year anniversary***
image

12 thoughts on “Two Year Anniversary !!

  1. I am considering an African – American woman considering becoming a foster parent. I found your blog today and read all of your posts in one sitting. Thank you for your words and testimony. You are inspiring. Blessings to you on your new journey! I am praying for you.

      1. Thank you for your words and taking the time to read my journey! That is a long read! I appreciate it and your prayers. God bless you in your upcoming decision ♡

  2. You definitely have a dynamic life! You’re right. I don’t think their are many single black women out there that write about their experiences as foster moms of those that do become one. There is actually a notable number that are foster moms. When I worked in special education with children and teens with behavioral issues, quite a few of ours were in foster care. Some of the the foster parents were single black women. Some had done it for years, raising more than one, some even considering or actually adopting them. What you all do really makes a difference in those kids lives. Now, I see you’re heading over to China. Hopefully, you’ll get to make a difference here, too. By the way, thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂

    1. Thank you for coming by also! I figured we were out there ♡ I’m in Arizona. ..so the pool is small lol. I’m happy to see more blogs sprouting up especially with my blog taking a turn. I do hope to make a difference in some form ♡

Leave a comment